Where Can I Find Resources to Get Started in Robotics?

• Thread starter some bloke
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Robotics
In summary, the author is looking to start robotics learning, and recommends starting with an intermediate-level kit such as the one mentioned.
some bloke
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to try my hand at robotics, and I am a complete novice at it - I have a reasonable head for coding and can negotiate logic circuits easily, but I have never done anything with robotics.

My first project is to produce 2 robots of identical proportions, where one is manipulated manually and the other replicates it's motions. I plan to use 2 angle poise lamps as a base, then add sensors and motors to identify the angle of each joint and replicate it on the second one. I thought it to be a good, basic entry-level project, with minimal fabrication & cost.

Can anyone recommend some good basics to start with? I understand that raspberry pi is quite a good platform, but I want to know the general feeling of people before I go investing in things.

any free courses anyone knows about will be gratefully received as well.

Cheers!

Physics news on Phys.org
some bloke said:
then add sensors and motors to identify the angle of each joint and replicate it on the second
Well I don't know what type of motor, sensors and control you will decide upon.

Stepper motors are useful for robotics, since they do not "require" position feedback since they can count on their own the absolute or differential position from a starting setpoint.
So you could do a readup on their function and control.
One comprehensive site is,
http://homepage.divms.uiowa.edu/~jones/step/

Likes berkeman
I like @256bits advice. Start with a single joint. Choose an acuator such as a stepper motor. Choose a sensor such as an optical encoder. Learn how to connect them and control them via software with Rasberry Pi or Arduino.

Once you have that mastered, then a robot is just a collection of multiple joints.