1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Where do I start?

1. Jan 14, 2009 #1
    Hi, I am totally new to physics as in I haven't even started to learn it at school and wanting to learn it here, and i dont know where to start. :(
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 14, 2009 #2
    and i want to be a physicist but that might be a bit optimistic conisdering i know zeep about it.
  4. Jan 14, 2009 #3
    I've told people before and I'll tell you. Stephen Hawking's "A Breif History of Time, is the perfect place to start to get some physics legs under you. I like the illustrated version. Though it's a bit more expensive, I think the diagrams help greatly with understanding some of the concepts. Cosmos (both the book and the TV miniseries), by Carl Sagan is another classic layman physics intro, though it's getting a little dated by now. It's also geared to a slightly younger crowd, so if you're in the middle school to early High School range, that might be a good bet.

Other than that, take all the classes you can in physical science, mathematics and physics whenever you can. Also, good sci-fi authors can teach you a lot as well (or at least point you in the direction of questions to ask in the real world). Arthur C. Clark in particular was excellent at mixing real science in his fiction. Rendezvous with Rama and 2001 are both good examples of sci-fi with real science, both of which you can likely find cheap at a used book store somewhere. Larry Niven has some quality science as well in books like Ringworld and The Mote in God's Eye, which again should be a couple bucks at any used book store worth the name.