Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why am I looked down upon for being single?

1. Feb 1, 2009 #1
    All my friends from high school and my closest friends are all married, engaged, or living together with someone. I don't have a girlfriend, and I haven't had one for a while and people always ask me about it. "So Kris, hows the love life, meet anyone special, you should ask that girl out, etc.", it gets pretty irritating. The truth is, I don't have a girlfriend because I don't have time for one and I have simply have never met anyone that is worth the time and trouble. Why the hell does society say that I HAVE to have a girlfriend all the fricken time? I'm an engineering grad student damit, we're not suppose to have girlfriends anyway.

PS: No Cyrus, I will not close this thread.
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 1, 2009 #2
    Stay single, and enjoy it!
  4. Feb 1, 2009 #3

Math Is Hard

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

They're not looking down on you. They just care about you. Usually when I make this kind of inquiry it's because I know someone that I think the person might like to meet. o:)
  5. Feb 1, 2009 #4
    They usually say it with such pity like they are trying to empathize with me. No one ever really offers to try and hook me up with anyone.
  6. Feb 1, 2009 #5
    It's the primitive human psychology.

"Birds of feather flock together"

For the longest time, I used to get looked down all the time by family, friends, and acquaintances who already found that special someone. But those friends who were single didn't seem to care, and me neither.

But when that person rolled into my life, suddenly I received more respect from people, and especially those closest to me. It's all fake. That's why I've grown to despise social behavior, it's all pointless, but got to play the game.