Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Will evolution eradicate homosexuality?

1. Sep 26, 2011 #1
    I am an amateur studying physics on my own accord purely to satisfy my own curiosity and new to the forum , so please be gentle if i am stating something blatantly obvious or that has been discussed already.

I was not studying this topic but had discussions with someone about DNA and then separately about homosexuality and homosexuality in history.

Basically they questioned how many people were homosexual in the past.

Well i thought that purely from a scientific and evolution point of view being homosexual is a genetic flaw , i mean our existence is down to humans reproducing and obviously if people of the same sex are together they are not reproducing.
    Evolution and natural selection tends to iron out a lot of flaws so i thought surely if flaws are generally being ironed out like this then it must have been more flawed in the past (a higher percentile of people could have been homosexual?).

Then i thought about the social side of this and there are many points in the past where homosexuality was an outright taboo or illegal and is still illegal in many countries today.
    As a result people must have been feeling forced into trying to "act normal" and have partners of the opposite sex and have offspring which would be passing these "flawed" genes on to their offspring.

As i said i understand homosexuality is still illegal in many countries today but it is vastly more acceptable on a global scale than it was say 50 years ago , You would expect if current trends continue that homosexuality is only going to be accepted more and more and people will feel free to be open about this and cohabit with members of the same sex instead of trying to "act normal" and have an opposite sex partner and produce offspring.