1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Works only when using seconds,but not minutes -really need help

1. Sep 13, 2005 #1

I just started learning physics and already am stuck

Train starts moving with constant acceleration a . In five minutes it travels 5 kilometers . Find a !

S = a * t^2 / 2

a = 2 * S / t^2

My question is why does this formula work only if we express time in seconds ?
    If I don't convert 5 minutes into seconds prior to putting variable t into formula , the result is wrong .
    Why not correct when t is expressed in minutes , and wrong when expressed in seconds ?
    When deriving that formula , I found nothing nothing in it that was specific only for seconds

thank you
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 13, 2005 #2

Homework Helper

You can express distance and time in whatever units you want, as long as you keep the units consistent.

If you put distance in km and time in minutes, you get a in km/min^2.

You can interconvert like so :

[tex]1 km/{min}^2 = 1 km/(60s)^2 = \frac{1}{3600} km/s^2 =( \frac{1}{3600})(1000m)/s^2 = \frac{1000}{3600} m/s^2 = \frac{5}{18}m/s^2[/tex]
  4. Sep 13, 2005 #3

Science Advisor