Tape experiment how to pull at constant speed?

In summary, a high school student is conducting a physics experiment on the peeling force of tape and wants to determine the relationship between peeling force and velocity. They are struggling to find a method of pulling at a constant speed and measuring force while keeping other variables constant. One suggestion is to use a weight attached to a string to apply a constant force. Using a spring is not recommended as the force will change with the length of the spring.
jangheej
hi all
i'm a high school student doing a physics experiment about the peeling force of a tape.
I want to see the realtionship between the peeling force and the peeling velocity but I cannot think of a good way to pull at constant speed.
I tried to connect the spring to a motor so that the motor would pull the spring at a constant speed but the motor is not strong enough.

how can I pull at a constant velocity and measure the force with the peeling angle and all other things kept constant?

please help me! :D

Engineering news on Phys.org
Probably, you will get a constant velocity if you pull with a constant force.

One way to do that is have a weight falling vertically, attached to a string that applies the force to the rest of the experiment.

Using a spring is a bad idea, because the force will change depending on how much the spring is stretched.

1. What is the purpose of a tape experiment on constant speed?

The purpose of a tape experiment on constant speed is to measure the force required to pull a strip of tape at a steady rate. This can be used to study the properties of the tape and the frictional forces involved.

2. How do you set up a tape experiment for constant speed?