Animal Testing Debate in My English Class: What's Your Take?

In summary, animal testing is the use of live animals in scientific and medical research to study the effects of substances on their bodies. This practice is controversial due to ethical concerns about animal welfare, but proponents argue that it is necessary for scientific and medical progress. Opponents argue that it is cruel and inhumane, and that there are alternative methods available. As a scientist, I believe that animal testing should only be used as a last resort, with strict regulations in place to ensure ethical treatment of animals.
recon
This heated debate on animal testing happened in my English Class the other day. A large number of girls are against it. I personally am on the fence. So what's your take on the issue?

Physics news on Phys.org
It all depends on how it is done and for what reason.

Actually, the girls ALL think that animal testing is ALL cruelty.

I am against laboratory animal testing. The same standards that apply to human testing should apply to other species, as well. I have no problem with properly done clinical testing that does not noticeably harm the animals.

Related to Animal Testing Debate in My English Class: What's Your Take?

1. What is animal testing?

Animal testing, also known as animal experimentation or vivisection, is the use of live animals in scientific and medical research. This involves subjecting animals to various procedures and tests in order to study the effects of chemicals, drugs, and other substances on their bodies.

2. Why is animal testing controversial?

Animal testing is controversial because it involves the use of live animals, which can cause harm and suffering to the animals involved. Many people argue that this practice is unethical and inhumane, while others believe that it is necessary for scientific and medical progress.

3. What are the arguments for animal testing?