BJT small signal analysis: output resistance

In summary, the conversation discusses the process of deriving the output resistance in a small signal equivalent circuit for a BJT. The output resistance is typically simplified to be equal to the collector resistance (Rc), but this is only valid when other sources in the circuit are set to zero. The reason for this simplification is that with all other sources set to zero, the voltage at the base-emitter junction (v_be) is also zero, making the voltage across the resistor (v_be*g_m) also zero. This means that the current through the resistor (i_b) must also be zero, resulting in a simplified output resistance of just Rc. However, this is a simplified model and does not take into account the Early effect.
eliotsbowe
Hello, I'm studying BJTs and I have a doubt about deriving the output resistance in the small signal equivalent circuit.

Let's consider the circuit below:
k1fnmt.png

To derive the output resistance, I'd write the following KCL:

[tex]i_x = i_{rc} + i_c[/tex]

at this point, every example I've seen says [tex]R_o = R_c[/tex], that is: the collector current is zero.

May someone please explain me the reason for this statement?

Thanks in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
It is my understanding if you want to find output impedance of the BJT, you don't have the Rc. Look at the collector curve in any transistor data sheet, they set up different Ib ( base current) and keep the base current constant. Then they vary the Vce and observe the change of the collector. Output resistance is:

[tex] \left |\frac {\partial I_c}{\partial V_{CE}}\right|_{ΔI_B=0}[/tex]

This is done by curve tracer.

Your drawing miss a few things, namely output resistance [itex]r_o[/itex]. And you don't want the 2.2K Rc there to drown out the [itex]r_o[/itex].

yungman said:
Your drawing miss a few things, namely output resistance [itex]r_o[/itex]. And you don't want the 2.2K Rc there to drown out the [itex]r_o[/itex].