Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Black Hole Questions

1. Apr 3, 2004 #1
    Hello. I am new to this board. I hope it is acceptable to ask some foolish questions here once in a while. I am a novice when it comes to physics; but I have always been quite interested in such subjects.

I have been looking for some reliable information regarding what is usually called "black holes." If this is not the forum to ask my questions, please let me know before I go on and on....

I will keep it short until I see if this is the right forum for this topic. The first thing I would like to find is a definition of a black hole.

More later... :eek:

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 3, 2004 #2
  4. Apr 3, 2004 #3
    Thanks Chen

I was hoping to uncover info like this here. The link you provided is very helpful; and EASY to understand! I really appreciate it. I will be back in about 2 days; and if this subject gets moved; I totally understand. I will appreciate being able to ask a few more questions here, and learning more. Now that I look things over closer; it may be that some of my questions will over-lap into your Philosophy Forum here; but for now; I am interested in exploring black holes and related topics in this thread, if that is OK.

5. Apr 8, 2004 #4
    Gravity And Time??

I don’t understand a lot of what I read on these topics, as I am untrained in them; but I do enjoy the physics related topics I see here for personal research. I know my questions may sound really simple to many here; but I am sincerely interested in getting at the facts with certain areas of physics.

I once did a science project in elementary school on Einstein’s theory of relativity – drove my Dad nuts; asking him all kinds of questions about it, so I could complete my project… :eek: