What is the maximum speed one can travel near a stellar mass black hole?

In summary, the fastest speed one can travel at if it is about stellar mass black hole is about the speed of light.
mat1101
Is there a rotation speed for black holes, and if so, (either than infinity), what is the fastest speed one can travel at if it is about stellar mass black hole.

Also I would like a equation, but please it explain what it means because I am only 14.

Physics news on Phys.org
That's a great question. I have a PhD in physics, and I don't know the answer (although I can offer the extenuating circumstance that relativity isn't my specialty :-) ).

When a spinning figure skater pulls in her arms from r=1 unit to r =0.5 units, her velocity goes up. If you model her naively as two masses at the ends of a cord spinning end over end, then each mass's velocity doubles. You'd think that when r became zero, the velocity would reach infinity, but of course nothing can go faster than c. Relativistically, momentum doesn't depend on v, it depends on [itex]v\gamma[/itex], where [itex]\gamma=1/\sqrt{1-v^2/c^2}[/itex]. This approaches infinity as v approaches c.

So I'm going to throw out a wild guess, which somebody like George Jones or Sam Gralla who is really knowledgeable about GR will probably shoot down. When a spinning black hole forms by gravitational collapse, the infalling matter has a radial velocity that approaches c as it reaches the event horizon. As it gets closer and closer to the singularity, its tangential velocity also approaches c.

The other thing that's not obvious to me is whether the angular momentum of a black hole is localized in its singularity, or whether the spacetime itself carries it. Or maybe it doesn't even make sense to ask where it's localized, since there isn't any really meaningful way in which we can say what's going on "now" inside the event horizon.

Prof,