Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Book suggestions for getting into AI development?

1. Feb 22, 2017 #1
    Hi I'm a freshman in college that is interested in AI, and I wanted to do some independent studies on this subject.
    Is there some good books I can read to get into AI development, and could you also suggest books for advance developers?

Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 22, 2017 #2
    I was once thinking along a similar line; I am well able to program in a number of computer languages. including PROLOG.
    I decided to do a project that would try to intelligently interact with a human using simple text messages.
    I used English language for the messages because it is commonplace and also my native language.
    Eventually I gave up, the best result was something that could read a simple story and then reply to questions about the story

>> '? What do you think about the wolf'
    << 'The wolf is bad the wolf'

Maybe you will fare better

Last edited: Feb 22, 2017
  4. Feb 22, 2017 #3
    What type of AI?

Gaming AI is a different sort than that used for making a self driving car, or the chess champion.
    For a game, one wants the AI to be smart, but not too smart - who wants to be beaten all the time, so one has to compromise on algorithms or the visuals or the number of points awarded for a task, etc for the game to be fun(ish).

Self driving cars, or other machines with apparent intelligence, while not perfect, will have to live up to human expectations, usually less forgiving for machines than for other humans. The AI had better be as perfect as more than humanly possible.

Chess champion - One wants the machine to be unbeatable, and testable against the human mind.

Just putting that out there for contemplation on how wide the field actually is.

5. Feb 23, 2017 #4

QuantumQuest

Gold Member