Braking force of a truck

• Thread starter chrishgv
  • Start date
Hi guys i'm a truck driver. Not sure if i'm posting in the right place so i apologise. Iv'e been on a course today about trucks. The course leader was talking about forces. A trucks force forwards can be 0.8. Is this true?

Answers and Replies

Hi guys i'm a truck driver. Not sure if i'm posting in the right place so i apologise. Iv'e been on a course today about trucks. The course leader was talking about forces. A trucks force forwards can be 0.8. Is this true?
We were talking about carrying a load. We have to make sure the load is safe. The biggest force a hgv truck produces under breaking is 0.8 going forwards. does this seem correct?

We were talking about carrying a load. We have to make sure the load is safe. The biggest force a hgv truck produces under breaking is 0.8 going forwards. does this seem correct?
This is probably correct . My real questioning is when he said that.. Because people get whiplash. There is a force pushing backwards when you break hard. He says a pallet on the truck will move backwards after a crash???

Dale
Mentor
Insights Author
2020 Award
A trucks force forwards can be 0.8. Is this true?
A truck’s force certainly could be 0.8 in some units. Are you familiar with the concept of units? Like distances can be measured in inches or miles or meters. Forces are usually measures in newtons or pounds (pounds can be confusing because it is sometimes a unit of force and sometimes a unit of mass and so context is needed)

Likes chrishgv
jbriggs444
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
For those of us in the U.S., a "HGV" truck is a Heavy Goods truck. Which is what we would call an "18 wheeler" or a "semi-trailer truck".

It is plausible that such a truck can brake at 0.8 gees of acceleration. This means that the carried goods can experience an apparent forward force equal to 0.8 times their weight.

Likes Delta2, russ_watters and chrishgv