Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Can somebody help me understand singularities better please?

1. Nov 8, 2017 #1
    Hello. :)

This is my first post. I'm an amateur astronomer with a interest in cosmology. My understanding of cosmology is entirely derived from reading Hawking's 'A Brief History of Time', Guth's 'The Inflationary Universe' and relevant articles in Scientific American, Sky & Telescope and Astronomy magazines. So, please be gentle with me!

In the above books and magazines I've read about the concepts of a gravitational singularity and of the Big Bang singularity. Up until now I'd (naively?) thought that diagrams like the one below were similar to the contour lines of an ordinary topographical map. That is, they represented what physical reality was doing in a way that the mind could easily grasp.

blackholes_singularity.jpg

But now this paper... http://ja-schweitz.se/onewebmedia/BIG BANG METRIC2.pdf ...has confused me. It seems to be saying that such a diagram of the Big Bang singularity is not so much representation as an artifact. (Or artefact.)

Could somebody please explain what's going on here? (Preferably in terms that an enthusiastic amateur can grasp.) Thank you.

Cerenkov.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2017 #2

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor

You can safely ignore that paper. There's a reason why it's hosted on the author's personal web site instead of published in a reputable peer-reviewed journal.

4. Nov 8, 2017 #3

ISamson

Gold Member

Is @Cerenkov 's view on singularities and that picture correct?
    I don't totally understand singularities as well.

5. Nov 8, 2017 #4

mathman

Science Advisor
    Gold Member