Checking if n is a Multiple of 2: Proving 3 (sqrt 2) is Irrational

In summary, the conversation discussed proving the statement that if n is an integer and n^3 is a multiple of 2, then n is a multiple of 2. It was also deduced that 3*sqrt(2) is irrational and a basic question was discussed about the necessity and sufficiency of a condition regarding divisibility by 6 and 12."
elle
Hi can anyone help me check if I've approached this question correctly and offer any help on part b) of the question? Thanks! :smile:

a) Prove that if n is an integer and n^3 is a multiple of 2 then n is a multiple of 2.

Let n^3 be a multiple of 2 but suppose n is not a multiple of 2.

then n= 2k+1

=> n^3 = (2k+1)^3

= (4k^3+4k+1)(2k+1)
= 8k^3+12k^2+6k+1
= 2(4k^3+6k^2+3k)+1
= 2m + 1 where m = 4k^3+6k^2+3k

==> n^3 is not a multiple of 2

therefore by contradiction n^3 is a multiple of 2 and n must also be a multiple of 2.

Is that correct? :confused: please correct me if I am wrong, I am not too good at proof.

b) Deduce that 3 (sqrt 2) is irrational.

Physics news on Phys.org
a) proof is correct (except for typo in the middle, but it doesn't really matter).

b) if you have proved sqrt(2) is irrational, then it is trivial to show 3 times is also irrational - you can use the contradiction argument by showing that if 3*sqrt(2) is rational, then sqrt(2) is rational.

oh thanks for your help! I'll give the 3(sqrt)2 one a go :smile:

I've also got another problem trying to get my head round the following type of question. It's so basic but :confused:

Question :-

Decide whether this condition is necessary, sufficient or both.

If statement A: n is a positive integer and n is divisible by 6

statement B: n is divisible by 12.

My Answer

B => A but A does not imply B as n = 18 is a counter example.

So B => A therefore:

=> n = 12a
=> n = 6b where b is 2a
=> n is divisible by 6

therefore A is necessary but not sufficient for B.

Is that right? :uhh:

Thanks!

Last edited:
elle said: