Circuit Analysis of IR transmitter/receiver

In summary, the conversation discussed a beginner's project involving the transmission and reception of IR signals to control a motor. The question of whether the voltage would affect the frequency output of the 555 timers was raised, as well as the difficulty in selecting the correct transistor to provide power to the motor. Suggestions were given to avoid controlling the Vcc power terminal of an LM555 and to use a bypass capacitor on the Vcc rail. An online simulator, LTspice, was recommended for signal analysis and a model of an IR transmitter with example output was shared. The conversation also touched upon the use of bypass capacitors and clarified the function of the two resistors in parallel as current dividers. Additionally, the concept of amplitude modulation was discussed in
enJayneering
Hi everyone,

I am a complete beginner when it comes to circuit analysis that involves anything more than a few resistors and capacitors. Currently, I am working on a project that requires the transmission and reception of IR signals to control a motor. I know the requirements for the motor I must use and the amount of voltage I am able to work with. My question is, will the voltage have any effect on the frequency output of the 555 timers? In addition, I'm having trouble selecting the correct transistor to provide the right amount of power to the DC motor. Any help is much appreciated!

Here is the picture for the schematic that I am working off of:
Wireless%20DC%20Motor%20Speed%20Control.jpg

I am fairly comfortable with how the 555 time operates in astable and monostable configurations. I'm just having difficulty calculating numbers.

Engineering news on Phys.org
enJayneering said:
My question is, will the voltage have any effect on the frequency output of the 555 timers?