1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Computer science vs. software engineering

1. Apr 13, 2009 #1

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

What is the fundamental difference between the two? Sorry for my ignorance but I was just wondering :smile:

I'm planning to do a 2nd major with Applied math and cs/se, if that helps.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 13, 2009 #2
    Computer scientists know how to write very efficient and complicated software.

Software engineers design, and execute the software development life cycle from an engineering perspective.

Both can do the either ones job.

4. Apr 13, 2009 #3

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

so considering I am majoring in Applied Math, which one would be a preferable 2nd major?

5. Apr 13, 2009 #4

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

6. Apr 13, 2009 #5
    So after reading the topic of the thread, I too became interested in what the difference was, and after Googe-ing things and reading articles, this might explain some differences in Computer Science and Computer Engineering, referred to as CS and CEN in the article, respectively.

The link to the article is: http://www.eng.buffalo.edu/compscie_vs_compeng.php"

On a side note, have you considered earning a degree such as Computational Mathematics or a degree in Mathematics, pure or applied, with a Specialization in Computing?
    I believe I also replied to your UCLA's Scholar's thread and UCLA offers both Mathematics of Computation (which allows you to take upper division courses in the Engineering school) and a Specialization in Computing which can be added to any Mathematics major except Mathematics of Computation.