Is it too late to get into a top grad school with a low GPA?

In summary: So if you've struggled in the lower level classes, it'll be harder to catch up and get an A in the upper level classes.
Mgkov18
Alright so I know that I am thinking far into the future here but I think it is necessary. I am a freshman in college and I am a physics major but my grades are poor. My first semester I got 2 C's(physics and math) because I did not study a lot. This semester I'm doing better, I'll get an A in calc but I am still going to get a C in physics and maybe in computer programming also. My gpa is pretty bad, it's a 2.2 but will go up a little after this semester. Is there still a possibility that I could get into a top 30 grad school if I start doing a lot better or should I switch my major? I am actively looking for research opportunities also.

Physics news on Phys.org
You're concerned about the wrong things. You're going to get a C in physics, which indicates that you do not have an adequate understanding of your physics course. Your question should be how to change this.

Likes playoff and QuantumCurt
Micromass is right - you need to be thinking about bringing today's grades up, not years down the road.

I understand what you guys are saying, but I took my finals and although my grades are not finalized, I estimated them to be 2 C's and an A, I know that I need to ask questions in class and change how I study. But I am curious, if I can change these and pull my grades up to A's and B's, do I have a good chance of getting into grad school?

Getting a C in first year physics is not going to keep you out of graduate school if you do well in the courses that follow. A GPA of 2.2 will keep you out of graduate school though. Minimum cutoff is usually around a 3.0, just to be considered. Most schools won't look much lower than the 3.3-3.4 bin in my experience.

To the OP: