Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Cosmology Literature

1. Sep 30, 2006 #1
    Hello, I am a non-science student with a huge interest in cosmology and modern physics. I've read Micheal Greene's "Elegant Universe" and "Fabric of the Cosmos" a couple of times, and I loved them. What else do you recommend? (I know about Stephen Hawking's 2 books, and I hope to read them sometime soon). Anyone else have any suggestions?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 30, 2006 #2
    How much math can you handle?

4. Sep 30, 2006 #3

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The paperback novel-type books really aren't going to teach you much. At most, they're going to be good entertainment. If you really want to study cosmology, you should look into university-level textbooks on the subject.

- Warren

Last edited: Oct 1, 2006
  5. Sep 30, 2006 #4
    Gravity from the Ground Up by Bernard Schutz. I have just flipped through the book, and I think it was written mainly for people whose strong point is not differential geometry but who have not forgotten their high-school non-calculus maths. Of course, cosmology forms only a part of the book, general relativity being the main theme.

6. Oct 1, 2006 #5

hellfire

Science Advisor

Take look to the threads in the subforum Book Reviews, in Career & Academic Guidance. A very interesting book, without formulas but very accurate, is Steven Weinberg's "The First Three Minutes: A Modern View of the Origin of the Universe".

Last edited: Oct 1, 2006
  7. Oct 2, 2006 #6

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

A good compromise is Cosmology, by Edward Harrison.

This book, in places, uses a little elementary calculus.

8. Oct 2, 2006 #7