Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Creating instances of a class in Objective C

1. May 17, 2012 #1
    I'm relatively new to Objective C. I know I'm using C strings instead of NSStrings, but I'm more comfortable with them. And I know this is probably a bad example of Object-oriented programming, but this is for the sake of example.

Code (Text):
    #import <Foundation/Foundation.h>

@interface Greeter : NSObject
    {
        char* name;
    }
    -(void) setname : (char*) newname;
    -(char*) getname;
    -(void) greet;
    -(void) ask;
    @end

@implementation Greeter
    -(void) setname : (char*) newname
    {
        name = newname;
    }
    -(char*) getname
    {
        return name;
    }
    -(void) greet
    {
        printf("Hello, %s!\n",name);
    }
    -(void) ask
    {
        printf("What's your name?\n");
        scanf("%s",name);
    }
    @end

int main()
    {
        @autoreleasepool
        {
            Greeter* me;
            [me ask];
            [me greet];
        }
    }
    Nothing happens. I'm not completely sure why not, but again, I'm new to Objective C's approach to Object Oriented programming.

2. jcsd
  3. May 17, 2012 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

did you try putting in the args for your main method

int main ( int argc, const char *argv[] )

that may solve your problem especially if the error returned was can't find main method.

4. May 17, 2012 #3
    No, I didn't get an error message, and int main() is perfectly valid (though some use int argc,const char* argv[] since it's useful for running the program for the command line.) The problem is that when I run it, nothing happens.

5. May 17, 2012 #4

jedishrfu