1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Deciding on a PhD, considering Nuclear Physics

1. Nov 30, 2016 #1
    Greetings to everybody. I'm currently in my 3rd year of pursuing a physics undergrad, and I'm considering where I might want to focus, what field I might want to enter. As the title suggests I'm seriously considering something with regards to nuclear physics. My primary interests lie in space (specifically the exploration thereof) and energy.

I'm curious from those more experienced, what is the state of nuclear physics in research (what might it entail these days) and the job market? I'd also like to know if there are any particular undergrad electives you recommend as preperation. Or do you have any recommendations for other areas to pursue based on those interests I outlined? Any general recommendations?

Thank you for any feedback. Honestly I'm trying to soak up every bit of advice I can right now so if you have any other input I welcome it.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 2, 2016 #2
    What about these interest you?

4. Dec 2, 2016 #3
    An excellent question. And the quick answer would be a lot, but I'll try and outline a few specifics. To quote Star Trek, space is a sort of final frontier to me in terms of unexploration. Things like missions to Europa for example have me at the edge of my seat. Plus the history (and future) of the universe is basically written up there which also fascinates me. It's honestly hard to find things that I don't find interesting. I'm also excited for the James Webb telescope. I know propulsion is one of our severe limiting factors in what we can explore in our own solar system and possibly nearby ones in the future. Experimental non-combustion propulsion interests me, for example ion thrust.