Deciding on a PhD, considering Nuclear Physics

In summary: Zz.I didn't know those would be considered Nuclear Physics experiments, even partially. I sort of assumed they fell under elementary particle physics. Very...interesting.
TJGilb
Greetings to everybody. I'm currently in my 3rd year of pursuing a physics undergrad, and I'm considering where I might want to focus, what field I might want to enter. As the title suggests I'm seriously considering something with regards to nuclear physics. My primary interests lie in space (specifically the exploration thereof) and energy.

I'm curious from those more experienced, what is the state of nuclear physics in research (what might it entail these days) and the job market? I'd also like to know if there are any particular undergrad electives you recommend as preperation. Or do you have any recommendations for other areas to pursue based on those interests I outlined? Any general recommendations?

Thank you for any feedback. Honestly I'm trying to soak up every bit of advice I can right now so if you have any other input I welcome it.

Physics news on Phys.org
TJGilb said:
My primary interests lie in space (specifically the exploration thereof) and energy.
What about these interest you?

Greg Bernhardt said:
What about these interest you?