Differential form of the first law of thermodynamics

In summary: This equation is saying that the work done on the system is the sum of the work done on the surroundings (dw) and the heat supplied to the system (dT). In the context of thermodynamics this is the same as saying that the work done is the sum of the heat added and the change in entropy.
omberlo
Hi everyone, I'm new here.

I'm an italian student who has an exam in applied thermodynamics soon. Through the whole course as well as the Physics one I have faced a lot of equations expressed with differentials, basically all of them. I have never been taught how to use them though.

For example let's take the first law of thermodynamics
dU(S,V,N_i) = TdS - pdV + sum_{i=1}^{n} (mu_i * dN_i)

let's leave out the chemical potential part to make the equation easier:

dU(S,V) = TdS - pdV

Now my doubt is, if I wanted to calculate the actual change in the internal energy (delta U) using the above expression how would I proceed?

is the above expression supposed to be used to calculate the change in internal energy ( Delta U) of a thermodynamic process ONLY when T and P are constant throughout the whole process, as

Delta U = T * (Delta S) -p * (Delta V)

or is it supposed to be used to calculate the Delta U of a thermodynamic process even if T and P aren't constant but they must be/(are always?) a function of S and V respectively, by integrating it like this:

U_b - U_a = int from a to b(dU) = int from a to b(TdS) - int from a to b(pdV)

or how else?

Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you.

Science news on Phys.org
Good evening Omberlo, welcome to Physics Forums.

What subject are you studying thermodynamics in?

It is difficult to know where to start since your exams are imminent. However you really do need to get some basic stuff sorted.