Double slit experiment, expensive gear?

In summary: Or read some pop science articles about quantum mechanics and not think they know it all?It looks like you first need to unlearn what you think you know about QM and start fresh.
rolnor
TL;DR Summary
I have an idea how to run the double slit experiment in a new way
I have an idéa how to run the double slit experiment that could give new insight to whats hapening. As I understand, when the photons are observed by someone the wawefunction colapses and the photons become particles, this can be seen as the interference pattern dissapears in the experiment. This is said to be a consequence of that a consiousness is observing the system. This observation is made via some detector. I wonder, what kind of detector is used? Is this very expensive gear? I am a organic chemist with a strong interest in physics, I would love to set up this system in my lab. Sorry if my english is non-perfect, I am from Sweden.

Physics news on Phys.org
rolnor said:
As I understand, when the photons are observed by someone the wawefunction colapses and the photons become particles, this can be seen as the interference pattern dissapears in the experiment.
This is not correct.
  1. Wave function collapse does not require observation by "someone".
  2. Photons do not "become particles".

rolnor said:
This is said to be a consequence of that a consiousness is observing the system.
Said by whom? Please provide a reference.

rolnor said:
This observation is made via some detector. I wonder, what kind of detector is used? Is this very expensive gear?
I would love to set up this system in my lab.
Many videos of DIY or home-based double slit experiments can be found on the internet.

rolnor said:
I am a organic chemist with a strong interest in physics.