Could electricity power a rocket? Feedback appreciated!

In summary: The best use of fuel is to extract all of its energy and use that energy to hurl it out the back -- the spent fuel becomes the reaction mass.
joey13
Hi! I'm a high school physics student. I really, really love physics, especially rocket science, and I had an idea about a rocket design, but I don't know how feasible it is. I was hoping you guys could give me some feedback.

So I was learning about electricity, and as far as I know, electric explosions can produce lots of energy. So I wondered, would it be possible to harness this energy to, say, produce thrust for a rocket, or would it be too destructive? What do you guys think?

Thank you for your feedback!

P.S. I wasn't sure if this is the right place to post this, apologies if it isn't!

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello and :welcome:!

What do you mean by an electric explosion?

Likes vanhees71 and sophiecentaur
joey13 said:
electric explosions can produce lots of energy.
The energy available from a Chemical source is actually much more convenient and potentially greater - if you want an "explosion". That's not to say a projectile can't be launched at great speed with an electromagnetic system.

Read this link about railgun.

I don't know about explosions. But search for ion rocket propulsion. NASA is already using it on some space probes.

Ion propulsion uses electricity to accelerate particles.

Likes vanhees71 and sophiecentaur
The problem with electric propulsion, in cars and rockets, is that we don't have really good light weight devices to store large amounts of electricity (batteries et. al.). This is in contrast to chemical energy storage (rocket fuel, etc.). So, in the situation where you want to store a bunch of energy to use later, chemistry just works better, for now. Other methods are also better for storage, depending on your requirements, like pumping water uphill, flywheeels, etc.