Electricity and Magnetism Book

In summary, a first year undergraduate is having difficulty with the traditional approach to learning electricity and magnetism, which is focused on equations and calculations rather than historical context and understanding the foundations of the subject. They are looking for a book that offers a more comprehensive perspective on the subject and its history. One suggestion is to take an E & M course using MKS units and an EE lab course in electronics. Another recommendation is to look at engineering texts and books such as 'The Road to Reality' by Roger Penrose and 'Engineering in the Ancient World' by J.G. Landels. However, the level of theory and application should be decided by the individual's interests and goals.
Pupil
I'm a first year undergraduate taking my first electricity and magnetism class, and going through all the classic material: Coulomb's law, electric fields, flux, capacitors, etc. And the book I have explains the material relatively well, but I feel like I'm missing out on so much by just being given the postulates/empirical claims and doing ridiculous amounts of calculation with them (for instance, being told Coulomb's law is true, and deducing the electric field on, say, an infinitely charged plate by a little integration). I've always thought of physics as a lot more vibrant than that. How do we know Coulomb's law is true? What were the past experiments that verified the law? Why is the closed integral in Gauss's Law equal to the charge inside the Gaussian surface divided by the permittivity constant? What were the first capacitors made of? What was the exciting process of discovery for those pioneers who learned new things about this incredibly fascinating subject?