Electromagnetic lock design

1. hey guys
    Well Ive searched the net quite a lot but all in vain. Every website comes up with their product rather telling about how to design. Well guys i am a student of 5th semester electronics engineering, have not specifically designed an electromagnet but have studied the basic course for physics and of electric machinery that involves different types of generators and motors, transformers. Now you guys might be wondering what type of engineering am i doing, well i cant say much there
    My problem is that I have to control a magnetic lock by 8051 controller. I am making a digital security lock. Now you guys must have seen the magnetic locks, well how to design one. It has to be POWERFUL around 600lbs of force and extremely low POWER CONSUMPTION around 3watts because i am trying to fabricate the market product. Guys please guide me in such a way that i learn not like giving me the complete solution. Dont worry about the controller because I can handle it. The one thing puzzling me is that if i were to make it stronger by increasing the turns, the power consumption would increase, is that so, then i must increase the diameter. Well please answer.

2. jcsd
  3. Why does it have to generate 600 lbs. of force? Nearly all hotel rooms now use electronic locks. How do you think their locks work?

4. so like how much force does it need ? i mean to lock the door secure ... so whats your guess .. ? the hotel and also work on the same principle. I would control it through the controller ....

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2009
  5. negitron

negitron 842
    Science Advisor