Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electronics newbie

1. Jun 10, 2003 #1
    Hi guys, I’m interested in learning about electronics and circuitry. I was a CS major but now I’m majoring in CIS. Ever since i was 7, i always open every electronic gadget my parents bought, which i proceeded to look through and "mess around". Most of the time, I didn't ruin the product, but sometimes I messed things up and piss off my parents :-(. I don't want to pursue an EE degree, but recently I’ve chosen this as a hobby that I’ll like to enter. I just finish my sophomore year in college and now its summer. I don't have anythign else to do with my free time. I work part-time now and i have a lot of extra cash that I’m ready to spend on devices, books, and tools that i would need to begin my adventure into this field. Before i register for an introductory electronics class at my university, i would greatly appreciate any tips and general info that you guys believe a newbie might need to know. Suggestions on introductory books to intermediate level books are greatly appreciated too. My whole goal in this is to some day make my own 2 way radio controlled robot.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 11, 2003 #2
    Hi acemv, first off, where are you at with your education in electronics? Like for instance, do you know the resistor color code, ohms law, etc?

4. Jun 11, 2003 #3
    I did receive a some what basic education on electricity in high school, but it was a class in the 9th grade. I forget most, if not all of the items I was taught.

5. Jun 11, 2003 #4
    hmmm Bad Beer Rots Our Young Guts But Vodka Goes Well:smile:
    black brown red orange yellow green blue violet grey white