Calculating Average EMF in Two Coils on a Ferromagnetic Core

• Thread starter James Holtum
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Coil Emf
In summary, the conversation discusses two coils, A and B, wound on the same ferromagnetic core and the average EMFs induced in the coils. The relevant equations are mentioned and the value for mutual inductance (M) is calculated. The conversation also includes a discussion on the use of the equation for EMF induced and clarifies that the "average EMF" may not be a meaningful concept. The conversation also addresses the calculation of final current in coil A and the importance of considering the time step in calculations.
James Holtum
Hey guys been trying this question for a while now and i just can't seem to find any equations which link the two coils to find average EMF and also the final current I2. I am new to electrical so still learning any help is much appreciated, thanks!

Two coils, A and B, are wound on the same ferromagnetic core. There are 800 turns on A and 2800 turns on B. A current of 4 A through coil A produces a flux of 1500 μWb in the core. If this current is reversed in 30 ms, calculate the average EMFs induced in coils A and B.

Relevant equations
M=N2*(Flux2)/I1=N1*(Flux1)/I2

So for I've calculated M to be 1.05 mH and L to be 0.3 (not sure what units) but I don't think its right!

Physics news on Phys.org
James Holtum said:
Two coils, A and B, are wound on the same ferromagnetic core. There are 800 turns on A and 2800 turns on B. A current of 4 A through coil A produces a flux of 1500 μWb in the core. If this current is reversed in 30 ms, calculate the average EMFs induced in coils A and B.

Relevant equations
M=N2*(Flux2)/I1=N1*(Flux1)/I2
A and B is wound on the same core, so Flux1 = Flux2.

The equation to be used as for the Emf induced:

V = dΨn/dt , Ψn = Ψ * n = Flux * turns

So my value for N=2800+800?

Im given flux but that equation doesn't take into account the amperage and the time step?

Thanks