Energy Conservation w/ Charged Battery Time Travel

In summary, this source tells us that time travel is not impossible, but there is a lot of work that needs to be done before you can even consider the possibility.
Lars Krogh-Stea
TL;DR Summary
What are the concerns regarding energy conservation when sending a charged battery through time, both forwards and back in time. (Not sure what level this is).
Hi!

I want to start with saying that I'm not an expert on these type of problems, but I will be gratefull for some calarifications.

I've heard that there's nothing in psysics that says that time travel is impossible. I want to make a case with the time traveling battery. Could be any mass with inherent energy, but a charged battery makes the image clearer, I think.

First, forewards in time:
You charge a battery, some space traveller traveling fast through space takes the battery on a long journey and uses less time on the voyage than has passed on earth. The battery (and it's stored energy) has traveled through time, but the energy is never duplicated and everything is okay.

I've also read that even if energy is created as the universe is expanding, when timespace is not changing, energy is conserved/constant.

So, we'll send the battery back in time:
You charge a battery on the 3rd of may, and the 4th of may you send it through a wormhole that exits on the 2nd of may. Then, on the 3rd of may there will be two instances of the battery, with the same energy charge. On this day there is no connection to the wormhole and no extraordinary manipulation of spacetime. How is this legal within the laws of physics?

Thank you for your time :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Lars Krogh-Stea said:
I've heard that there's nothing in psysics that says that time travel is impossible
Really? From a reliable source?

Without a working, valid theory of time travel, one cannot answer questions about how it might work.

Last edited:
Likes phinds and vanhees71
Lars Krogh-Stea said: