1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Even and odd functions

1. Dec 10, 2008 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Hey guys,
    I'm studying for my sigs and coms exam and I am having trouble with determining whether a function is even or odd.
    I understand that an even function satisfies f(-t) = f(t) and an odd function satisfies f(-t) = -f(t) Can I determine whether this function is even or odd by looking at it?

2. Relevant equations
    {=integral

{ xsin(ax) dx

3. The attempt at a solution
    I know I substitute x with -x but what do I do from there?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 10, 2008 #2
    Maybe i'm not reading your question right, but you said that you understand that a function is even when f(-t) = f(t), and odd when f(-t) = -f(t).

If you have a graph of it, you should be able to tell whether the function is odd or even just by looking at the graph and taking t and -t. If all you're given is an equation, then choose a value that you can easily evaluate and see what happens on the other side of the axis.

Or are you referring to the equation on #2?

[tex]f(x) = \int xsin(ax)[/tex]

I think that's what you meant on #2 anyway.

4. Dec 10, 2008 #3

Redbelly98

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You try to either eliminate the "-" signs, or try to bring them outside the expression.

Example #1:

f(x) = x2
    so
    f(-x) = (-x)2
    = x2 (eliminating the "-")​
    = f(x) ​
    so this is an even function

Example #2:

f(x) = x3
    so
    f(-x) = (-x)3
    = -(x3) (bringing the "-" outside the expression)​
    = -f(x) ​
    so this is an odd function

p.s. Welcome to PF :smile:

5. Dec 10, 2008 #4