Analysing a Filter Rectifier Circuit: Solve for VDC, Vr and Ripple %

In summary, the conversation is about a beginner in Electronics Engineering who is analyzing a filter rectifier circuit. They have been given questions and solutions by their professor, but the numbers for the full wave analysis are not matching up. The analysis requires them to find VDC, Vr, and ripple % using specific formulas. The person has found correct answers for the half wave filter, but not for the full wave. It is mentioned that the frequency for a half wave rectifier is 60Hz, while for a full wave it is 120Hz. After realizing they were using the wrong value for period, the person was able to find the correct answers.
pooface
Hello I'm a beginner (Second Semester) at Electronics Engineering.

In the attachment is the image of the filter rectifier circuit that I am analyzing. My professor has given us questions and their solutions but for my full wave filter rectifier analysis the numbers are not the same.

The analysis asks me three questions:

VDC, Vr, and ripple %

Formulas I use:

Vrp-p=(VLpeak/RL * period) / C (capacitor value).

VDC = VLpeak - Vrpeaktopeak/2

Vr(rms)=.577* Vrp-p/2

r=Vr(rms)/VDC

My halfwave filter answers are correct and these are the formulas I used.
But my fullwave/bridge answers go wrong. someone please do this question and see what answer they get.

Attachments

• rfc.JPG
    rfc.JPG
    12.3 KB · Views: 480
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
A half wave and full wave rectifier differ in certain ways. You can't apply all formulas (or same value for period) to both. What value are you using for period, T?

Vrpp = (Vpin * T)/RC

Please so your exact calculations, like for example how you got Vrrms

Last edited:
Have to remember, in a half wave rectifier the frequency is 60 hz as it chops off the bottom half of each cycle. In a full wave circuit, it translates the bottom cycle to the top to give 120hz peaks.

ranger said: