Light Deflection Formula: Impact Parameter & Angle Shift

In summary, you are looking for a formula for the angle shift experienced by a light ray in presence of a gravitational field in terms of the impact parameter. You are not interested in the Schwarzschild metric or the weak field limit.
andresB
TL;DR Summary
looking for general formulas for the angle shift in terms of the impact parameter.
I know the basics of GR, but I'm far from an expert. I'm interested in the general formula for the angle shift experienced by a light ray in presence of a gravitational field. Light bending is topic covered in many books, of course, however the usual treatments would just not do for my purposes.

Most of the books I have looked at are just interested in the Schwarzschild metric, and take it from granted from the very beginning. The most general treatment I've found is in Weinberg chapter 8 where most of the treatment is metric agnostic and Schwarzschild is only assumed at the very end. However, the angle shift formula given by Weinberg is in terms of the "distance of closest approach", and that's not useful to me.

I'm looking for a general formula that is given in terms of the impact parameter.

Physics news on Phys.org
andresB said:
Summary:: looking for general formulas for the angle shift in terms of the impact parameter.

I'm interested in the general formula for the angle shift experienced by a light ray in presence of a gravitational field.
And the one in the Wiki article isn't general enough?

Mister T said:
And the one in the Wiki article isn't general enough?

Hi. Are you talking about the gravitational lens page? if that's the case then no. The page give the end result of the calculation for the Schwarzschild metric, and I need the formula for an arbitrary (spherically symmetric) metric.

To be more clear, this is the formula given in Weinberg.

1617330292522.png