Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

General relativity and accelerated frames

1. May 5, 2014 #1
    Hi,
    I'm going deeper in basics points on general relativity but, instead of swimming directly between the differential geometry, I'm trying to base my knowledge on strong physics bases first. I'm studying both on Wheeler's stuff ( I'm collecting almost all his books ), directly on Einstein's papers and on Thorne's books as well.

The most 2 important things I think to have grasped are:

1) "in a gravitational fields ( of small spatial extension ) things behave as they do in space free of gravity". After having thought a while, it seems soooo simple but soooo strong as principle. If the frame is sufficient small ( i.e. you can neglect tidal forced ) particles free falling within this frame cannot notice any gravity effect on them, and so gravity can be removed from the picture.
    This also mean these particle can be seen as inertial and so we can apply special relativity principle to this situation ( turning free falling into free floating).

2) when we are standing still on Earth surface, we receive a repulsive force which is opposite to the gravitational pull in that point. This force is not intertial at all, since it's due to columbian and nuclear forces. This makes our "true" frame of reference as not inertial indeed. This is why we usually see bullets following a parabolic trajectory. It's not because the bullet is not inertial, is because WE are not in a inertial frame. If we'd remove the Earth below us, we would float together the bullet, seeing its trajectory being a geodesic in flat space ( i.e. a straight line ).