Generating Random High/Low Sounds Using PIC Controller?

In summary, the conversation centers around the individual's goal to generate random high/low frequency noises through an amplifier using a PIC12F675P controller. They are seeking guidance on how to achieve this, including determining the frequency and duration of the sounds and potentially using a random number generator or a DTFM chip. Different methods and approaches are discussed, including utilizing a simple square wave or implementing a simple modem with external filters. The individual expresses gratitude for the suggestions and plans to further explore their options.
Pr0t0n
I'm new to the electrical engineering field and need guidance on how I can program a PIC (PIC12F675P) controller to generate random high/low frequency noises through a amplifier (TDA2822M). The sounds I'm aiming for need to be similar to those generated by a dial up modem.

I will appreciate any guidance I can get.

Engineering news on Phys.org
The simplest is to just bit-bang a pic IO pin at audio rates. Deciding what frequency for what duration to generate (ie, random) requires some sort of random number generators constrained to to provide numbers withing the frequency range and durations of the sounds you desire. If you want changing amplitudes, that would be a third number required. An lfsr algorithm will generated pseudo random numbers. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_random_number_generators. Here is some PIC code for such a thing: http://www.dontronics.com/psbpix/random.html

If you want waveforms that are not simple squarewaves, then you need to determing how to generate the waveform you want.

Thank you meBigGuy! Let me see how far I can get with this now.

you could always hook it up to a dtfm chip.