Boosting GPA for Grad School: Should I Apply Now or Wait?

In summary, the speaker is a senior UCSB physics program student with a 2.6 GPA who is retaking classes and working hard to improve their GPA to a 2.9. They are currently studying for the physics GRE and gaining research experience. They are considering applying for masters programs at CSUs but are unsure if they should apply this year or wait until next year when they have a better GPA and more research experience. They are also wondering how a masters from a CSU will look when applying for PhD programs and if there is a chance to get into UC programs with a lower GPA and good letters of recommendation. The speaker plans on seeking advice from an advisor but is also curious about others' opinions. They mention that there are
netsurfr42
I'm senior UCSB phys program that currently has 2.6 GPA not good at all this year I'm retaking some classes and working hard to improve my GPA and plan on boosting to 2.9. Right now I'm studying for physGRE, and getting research. Right now I'm looking at masters programs at CSUs
and wondering whether I should try to apply this year, or wait till next year when i'll have a better GPA and more research experience. Also how a masters from CSU will look when applying for prospective PHD programs. Also I hear rumors that UC's like undergrads from UC's and UCR, UCSD, UCMerced and UCSC don't have the classic 3.0 requirements. Is there a chance to get in those programs with some good letters of rec?

going to see and advisor but curious what people here think

Physics news on Phys.org