Heat Transfer Calculation in Lab Furnace

In summary, a PhD student is researching ways to build inexpensive high temperature ovens. He is looking for recommendations for a suitable heat transfer system and power input. He has consulted with electricians and heating element manufacturers, and has determined that he will need to use less power than is necessary to reach the target temperature. He is also considering designing the oven around the experiments he wants to run, rather than relying on pre-determined specifications. Any advice on how to find the information he needs would be greatly appreciated.
Matsci1
Greetings All,

I am a PhD student in a physical chemistry department. Our research group would like to build our own high termperature ovens for preparing samples. Nothing fancy, just a controlled rise in temperature to a given setpoint, hold it there for a designated amount of time and the cool down. The controllers that will do this are inexpensive and also the relays and thermocouples...that is not a problem. The question is about heat transfer and power.

We will be using Kantahl resistance heating wire. It is serviceable to 1350°C and we have a 230V, 16 Amp service to the normal labortory outlet. The question is how much power input to heating chamber should we design to reach temperature "X" in a heating chamber of volume "Y". The volume we have in mind is about 2700 Cubic Centimeters (15cm X 15cm X 12cm). This can all be calculated through the heat transfer equaitons and knowing the R factor of the insulation, surface area...etc.
Does anyone know of some softwear that can simplify this process?

Thank You,
MS1

Engineering news on Phys.org
For safety I would leave the design of these furnaces to the engineers that design them for a living.

Centorr vacuum furnaces has a lot of lab furnaces.

http://www.centorr.com/index.htm?referrer=google+sinteringfurnace

I recommend you contact them.

Thanks
Matt