How Can I Improve My Social Skills as a Young Scientist?

• Thread starter Vincit
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Hello
In summary, social skills are crucial for young scientists as they allow for effective communication, collaboration, and building professional relationships. To improve communication skills, one can actively listen and use clear language and nonverbal cues. Developing teamwork skills can be done through group projects, volunteering, and attending conferences. Overcoming shyness and building confidence can be achieved through practice and seeking feedback. Balancing social life with scientific work involves prioritizing tasks and finding social activities aligned with scientific interests.
Vincit
Hello all. I am Vincit, a new member to the Physics Forums.

I'm 15, and i got into the 'game' when i was quite young. I started learning Newton's Laws when i was 9 years old. I also started doing complex experiments such as creating haemoglobin molecules with stick magnets and metal balls. I'm a Japanese-American and, quite stereotypically, my mother wanted me to start learning science and math at an early age. Some would say I benefit from such an aberration, while others would disagree.

But I have certain social problems, and I find it hard to communicate and interact freely with people of my age. My mother tries certain tactics, such as forcing company onto me. This doesn't work, and I can't help my social problems. My mother eventually abdicated with these methods, which was a relief to me. However, I realized I could conversate easier with adults.

Can anyone suggest any methods of talking to people my age?

Thank you,

-vincit

Physics news on Phys.org
Vincit said: