How could I determine capacitance of an electrolytic cell?

In summary, the conversation discusses a lab experiment to find the capacitance of an electrolytic cell containing water, hydrogen, and oxygen ions. The cell has both a double layer capacitance and pseudocapacitance. The speaker mentions using cyclic voltammetry, but is still learning about it. They ask for the best method to determine the cell's capacitance and suggest using an AC voltage or a DC voltage for less accuracy.
hobbs125
I am doing a lab experiment in which I need to find the capacitance of an electrolytic cell containing water and of course hydrogen and oxygen ions.

The cell has both a double layer capacitance as well as a pseudicapacitance.

My initial studies show that I would use cyclic voltammetry, but I am still learning about it..

What method(s) would be best to determine or measure the cells capacitance?

Thanks in advance

Chemistry news on Phys.org
You have to determine the electrical capacitance experimentally?
You'd exploit the definition of capacitance and design the experment accordingly.
I'd apply an AC voltage and see how the reactance varies with frequency.
If you don't need a lot of accuracy, you could apply a DC voltage and find how the current varies with time.

Likes 1 person

1. What is capacitance?

Capacitance is the measure of an object's ability to store electric charge. It is measured in units of Farads (F).

2. How is capacitance related to an electrolytic cell?

An electrolytic cell is a type of capacitor, which means it has the ability to store electric charge. The capacitance of an electrolytic cell is determined by its physical characteristics, such as the size and shape of the electrodes, and the type of electrolyte used.

3. How can I measure the capacitance of an electrolytic cell?