Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Aerospace How to get job in Aerospace Engineering?

1. Mar 9, 2009 #1
    I have an equivalent Master’s Degree in Aerospace Engineering from Polytechnics of Turin (Italy).
    I am permanent resident of the United States of America. I have been in the Country for over one year.
    I appreciate to have some advice about getting a job in aerospace field; I have been sending my resume at the biggest aeronautical company of the US.
    I am looking for entry level position, but seem impossible get in!

Thank you in advance for yours advices!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 9, 2009 #2
    Look at companies that manufacture components for aerospace vehicles.

4. Mar 9, 2009 #3

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

You picked a heck of a time to try to get a job. Bad timing is nothing you can do anything about.

I assume by permanent resident you mean that you don't have to keep renewing a visa every year. You may have issues with a non-citizen status.

You have to keep trying. The bigger companies, OEMs may be tougher to get in with. Like was already mentioned, you may want to look at suppliers first.

5. Mar 9, 2009 #4
    Antonio, you said you have "an equivalent Master’s Degree in Aerospace Engineering." That word "equivalent" always worried me back when I was in the position of hiring engineers because I always wondered just what it meant. Don't be surprised if you are questioned pretty closely about this.

6. Mar 9, 2009 #5
    You are not a US citizen, you just eliminated a good majority of aerospace jobs.

7. Mar 9, 2009 #6
    Dr.D,
    The Italian University system is different from the American.