1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Integral of x^{3}e^{-x^2}dx

1. Mar 10, 2007 #1

I'm trying to show the following equation is correct:

[tex]\int_{-\infty}^{\infty}x^{3}e^{-x^2}dx = 0[/tex]

I obtained the result as 0 using Mathematica but couldn't figure out a way to evaluate the integral.

I am just an unfortunate computer scientist who happens to follow a graduate course on statistical mechanics :)

Also, I would appreciate if some one tells me how to query the forums to find an answer for a particular integration before posting it here.

Last edited: Mar 10, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 10, 2007 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Is the integrand an even or odd function?
  4. Mar 10, 2007 #3
    Unfortunately [tex]x[/tex] can take negative values if that's what you ask.
  5. Mar 10, 2007 #4
    I see, I am expected to show my own work when posting a question here. Actually that integral is just a small part of an answer to calculate the first four moments of a gaussian distribution with direct integration of the pdf.

I tried to re-write the integral as
    [tex]\frac{1}{2}\int_{-\infty}^{\infty}t e^{-t}dt[/tex]
    by using the substitution
    [tex]t=u^2[/tex], [tex]dt=2u du[/tex]
    [tex]u du=\frac{dt}{2}[/tex].
    By this approach I can say that t is positive and evaluate the integral as a Gamma function by carrying it from 0 to infinity and multiplying by 2. The problem is the result is not 0 which I am expected to get.
  6. Mar 10, 2007 #5

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

No, my hint concerned the type of integrand you're having.
    With an EVEN function f, we mean that for any x, f(-x)=f(x)

With an ODD function, we mean that for any x, we have f(-x)=-f(x)