Investigation and experiment ideas

In summary: Building a circuit that can modulate the intensity of an LED using a potentiometer. In summary, a high school physics teacher is asking for ideas for experiments on electricity and electronics/photonics concepts. One group will focus on basic circuits and electricity, while the other group will focus on electronics/photonics. The experiments should be able to measure at least two variables and ideas include investigating LED circuits, comparing different types of LEDs, building a light-sensitive switch, studying the effect of temperature on a thermistor, exploring the parameters of an amplifier, constructing an optical communication system, measuring the efficiency of a solar cell, studying non-Ohmic devices like diodes, and modulating the intensity of an LED.
emmjade
I'm a high school physics teacher and my students have to design their own experiments based around electricity and electronics/photonics concepts.

One group must do their experiment on basic circuits and electricity, and I've thought of a few example ideas for them: Measuring power use of a battery powered device in different settings, measuring resistance of wires/resistors under various conditions, measuring internal resistance of a battery.

However, I'm stuck on the group has to do their experiment on electronics / photonics.

The investigations need to be based around
- amplifiers
- LED's
- Light dependent resistors
- Light intensity modulation
- Thermistors
- Non-Ohmic devices like Diodes

I can think of plenty of boring ones, but can anyone think of some interesting investigations? They need to be able to take measurements of at least two variables during their experiment.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org