Is the collapse indispensable?

In summary, the concept of collapse being indispensable is a complex and debated topic. Some argue that collapse is necessary for growth and progress, while others believe it is a sign of failure and should be avoided. Ultimately, the answer to whether collapse is indispensable depends on individual perspectives and the specific situation at hand.
A. Neumaier
Science Advisor
Insights Author
I studied lots of points of view, and lots of how physicists actually use quantum mechanics in the applications. I came to the conclusion that there is an objective and a subjective side to quantum mechanics.

The collapse belongs to the subjective side, since it is associated with ''knowledge'' of which nature is ignorant.

''shut up and calculate'' belongs to the objective side. it couldn't work if the collapse were indispensable.

Properly distinguishing between an objective and a subjective side clears up a lot of the confusion prevailing in the foundations of QM.

Last edited:
Likes jerromyjon and StevieTNZ
Physics news on Phys.org
A. Neumaier said:
The best basis to clear up confusions is the (free) book http://www.fisica.net/quantica/Peres%20-%20Quantum%20Theory%20Concepts%20and%20Methods.pdf.

It makes a lot of sense to first read and understand a large part of this book before trying to understand more esoteric interpretations such as MWI. For unless you have a sensible understanding of what everyone agrees upon how quantum mechanics works you'll never get any clarity about more controversial issues.

A. Neumaier said:
The book by Peres presents the fundamentals very clearly and completely, without the need for ever invoking collapse. This makes it particularly suitable for beginners, since they are spared some of the weirdness introduced by the collapse.

Collapse is dispensable since it happens on the subjective side of quantum mechanics only - it tells what happens to a system when the observer changes his/her point of view.