Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Stargazing Is there any material I can use for an aperture solar filter?

1. Sep 29, 2018 #1
    I live in a small town and would like to make some observations today. However i dont have a solar aperture filter, i only have an eyepiece filter of which i do not trust. So is there any household items, materials i could use safely to save me from from ordering on the net and waiting however for the film to arrive. Someone said DVDs split in in half (1/2 depth/thickness) works but is that good advise or just bad advise?

I should say that the telescope is a D= 76mm( but can be reduced). SO any ideas would be great or am i just hoping for something that does not exist.

Thank you.

P.S
    I have no idea what this prefix i need to select is about, i am not at school im just an enthusiastic beginner of astronomy.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2018 #2

DaveC426913

Gold Member

I bought a piece of welder's glass from my local "Princess Auto" (a hardware warehouse).

I covered the scope objective with cardboard, cutting a small hole in it, and then taped the welder's glass over that.

4. Sep 30, 2018 #3
    NICE ONE!!!!! Such a simple idea. It seems quite obvious now you say it. Thank you.

5. Sep 30, 2018 #4

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

NEVER EVER use an eyepiece filter for solar filtering

not good advice

76mm is a good aperture size :smile:
    Easiest thing to use is 3 to 4 layers of a mylar survival blanket over the front of the scope
    Start with 4 layers, if it is too faint, reduce to 3 layers.
    I used film filters for 40+ years for viewing sunspots and solar eclipses

when you get a bit more money (~US$50 - $170) you can get a commercial solar filter
    here's the same thing over the front of one of my telephoto lenses …..

2015_03_14_3302sm.jpg

one of several suppliers