Is this Thermodynamic Cycle Possible and Reversible?

In summary: I'll have to defer to someone else on this, for I am not good with that theorem. Sorry.In summary, the conversation discusses determining whether a cycle violates the first law and whether it is reversible, irreversible, or not possible. The problem involves a heat engine producing 2000kW of power by taking 3000kW of heat from a 750C reservoir and rejecting 1000kW of heat to a 20C reservoir. The equation dU=Q-W is used to solve the problem, with the attempt being to sum the heat transfer and set dU equal to the energy produced. It is determined that the reasoning for the engine being irreversible due to heat transfer from a reservoir is not valid
Boom100

Homework Statement

Determine Whether or not this cycle violates the first law and if it is reversible, irreversible, or not possible.

2000kW or power are produced by taking 3000 kW of heat transfer from a 750C reservior and rejecting 1000kW of heat to a 20C reservoir.

Homework Equations

dU=Q-W

The Attempt at a Solution

My attempt was to simply sum the heat transfer (3000-1000)kW = Q and set dU=2000kW (The energy produced, or the internal energy it gathered). I set W=0 because this is just heat transfer and there is no work being done.

So 2,000 does = 2,0000 so I'm thinking this is true. It seems a bit easy though... so I am thinking something is off and I might have to incorporate the temperatures.

I said this is irreversible because it is heat transfer from a reservoir. So, once the heat is transferred, both heat sources change temperatures (The cold gets hotter and the hot gets cooler) so they are tending towards an equilibrium temperature. This can not be reversed and heat can not be sent back.

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to Physics Forums.

Boom100 said:

Homework Statement

Determine Whether or not this cycle violates the first law and if it is reversible, irreversible, or not possible.