Larson's Calculus vs. Stewart's Calculus

• Thread starter thrill3rnit3
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculus
In summary: It's a bit dated in places, but overall it's a good book. I like the way he breaks down the material so you can understand it. I also think that Stewart's book can be a bit dense at times.
thrill3rnit3
Gold Member
Hi, I'm a high school student and I'm just wondering which book would be better for an AP Calculus (AB and BC) course. We're currently using Larson's (https://www.amazon.com/dp/061850303X/?tag=pfamazon01-20). If you guys think Stewart's single variable calc book is better (I KNOW IT SUCKS...but the choices come down to these two, sorry), I need to know please. Thanks :smile:

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Larson by about a mile. Far easier to understand. More helpful exercises, although there are a tone of them. He explains things better. Especially for a high school student, I'd choose Larson.

You can preview the book here:

http://hmco.tdlc.com/public/calc7esample/calc7emain.html

I'd also recommend looking into Thomas and Finney, seventh or ninth edition of Calculus and Analytic Geometry.

OrbitalPower said:
Larson by about a mile. Far easier to understand. More helpful exercises, although there are a tone of them. He explains things better. Especially for a high school student, I'd choose Larson.

You can preview the book here:

http://hmco.tdlc.com/public/calc7esample/calc7emain.html

I'd also recommend looking into Thomas and Finney, seventh or ninth edition of Calculus and Analytic Geometry.

Yeah I know about Larson's book, and we're using the 8th edition right now.

Are there any newer editions of Thomas and Finney's book? Is it a good book for high school kids?

opinions, anyone??

I definitely recommend Thomas and Finney 9th. I found it on ebay for about 10 dollars and reference it all the time.