1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Larson's Calculus vs. Stewart's Calculus

1. Sep 23, 2008 #1

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

Hi, I'm a high school student and I'm just wondering which book would be better for an AP Calculus (AB and BC) course. We're currently using Larson's (HERE). If you guys think Stewart's single variable calc book is better (I KNOW IT SUCKS...but the choices come down to these two, sorry), I need to know please. Thanks :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 23, 2008 #2
    Larson by about a mile. Far easier to understand. More helpful exercises, although there are a tone of them. He explains things better. Especially for a high school student, I'd choose Larson.

You can preview the book here:

http://hmco.tdlc.com/public/calc7esample/calc7emain.html

I'd also recommend looking into Thomas and Finney, seventh or ninth edition of Calculus and Analytic Geometry.

4. Sep 23, 2008 #3

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

Yeah I know about Larson's book, and we're using the 8th edition right now.

Are there any newer editions of Thomas and Finney's book? Is it a good book for high school kids?

5. Sep 24, 2008 #4

thrill3rnit3

Gold Member

opinions, anyone??

6. Sep 26, 2008 #5
    I definitely recommend Thomas and Finney 9th. I found it on ebay for about 10 dollars and reference it all the time.

7. Oct 3, 2008 #6
    I love Stewart's Calculus. I don't see why people dislike it. It's easy to understand and covers the topic very well. I have compared it to Thomas' and i would prefer stewart any day. However, i think spivak is the best if your aim is to learn a lot of pure math in the end.

8. Mar 5, 2011 #7