1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Learning Calculus from text books

1. Jan 31, 2012 #1
    Hey there people, I've got a fascination with the sciences, especially Physics. In a year or two I'll have the time to possibly study it at Uni. Most likely entering as a mature student.

Anyways, I plan on using this time up until then on getting my Maths up to scratch.

The last time i studied Math's was at the age of 16, I'm now 22 and dare say I've forgotten everything. In school I was'nt exactly the model student either, i only got a C.

So, could I possibly get a few suggestions on what books to purchase? I dont want to just buy a Calculus book and struggle as if been thrown in the deep end, Is there a book out there with a section dedicated to getting other areas of Math's up to scratch to be ready to study Calculus?

Thank you for your time in reading this,

Luke

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 31, 2012 #2
    Is there a community college or extension division of a university nearby? People with exceptional focus and self-organization skills can perhaps in theory review pre-calc and learn calculus on your own.

But MOST people, and to be honest I mean basically EVERYONE, is far better taking classes. You have a structure, you have peers to work with, you have a teacher who can explain things that aren't in the book.

If you just read a book on logarithms you'd have to be a genius to figure out what they're taking about. If you have a teacher to explain how a logarithm is just a gadget for converting multiplication problems into addition problems, maybe that would be the one thing you needed to hear to make the subject snap into clarity for you.