Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lebesgues's Sigma Algebra

1. Nov 28, 2005 #1
    I'm now studying Lebesgues measure on R^n, and when we finished constructing L (all measurable sets), we moved on to Borel sets and so on.

My question is, is there is no way of extending the Lebesgues measure on a larger family than L? Can it be done while still saving the nice properties of the Lebesgues measure (invariance under isometries, at the least)?

If so, how, and if not, why (as in proof)?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 28, 2005 #2

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It is a theorem that the Borel measure on R^n is the unique lebesgue measure on R^n satisfying u([a,b]) = b-a, so whilst there may be other possible measures on the space they will not give the measure of the basic sets as what you want. Of course, you're free to define other measures too. The thing is that the sets (a,b] are a base for the borel sets on R (obvious generalization to R^n) and so specifying the measure on them fixes the measure.

So, the answer is (i'm almost sure), yes there are other measures, but no they're not natural and don't measure (a,b] correctly.

But i'm sure there is a different way to read your request. Perhaps you could elaborate.

Last edited: Nov 28, 2005
  4. Nov 28, 2005 #3
    if u:A->R+ is a measure on a ring A then hahn's extension theorem (NOT the hahn-banach theorem) allows a sigma-additive extension u' onto the sigma-ring generated by A. not only that, if u is sigma-finite on A then u' is also sigma finite & that extension is unique. not sure if that's exactly what palindrom was looking for but it sounds close.

Last edited: Nov 28, 2005
  5. Nov 29, 2005 #4
    While you are both saying interesting things, they're not answering my question. :)

I have a function [tex]$\lambda :L \to \left[ {0,\infty } \right]$