Linear Algebra Nonparallel vector Proof

In summary, the conversation is about proving two statements regarding nonparallel vectors. The first statement is that if sx+ty=0, then s=t=0, and the second statement is that if ax+by=cx+dy, then a=c and b=d. The attempt at a solution involves using proof by contradiction and assuming that s and t are nonzero. By showing that this leads to a contradiction, it is proven that s=t=0. For the second part, grouping the terms together and using the result of the first problem leads to a natural proof.
SMG75

Homework Statement

Suppose x, y [itex]\in\Re^{n}[/itex] are nonparallel vectors.
a) Prove that if sx+ty=0, then s=t=0
b) Prove that if ax+by=cx+dy, then a=c and b=d

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm very new to proof-based math, so I'm just trying to get my feet wet here. I realize this is a very simple problem, but I was hoping someone could walk me through it.

Assuming s[itex]\neq[/itex]0, then sx=-ty. Thus, x=(-t/s)y, which goes against the definition of nonparallel vectors. (Two vectors are parallel if they can be written with scalar constant. i.e. x=cy or y=cx). So, as a result, we know s[itex]\neq[/itex]0 must not be possible. Using similar logic, t=0 cannot be possible, either. Therefore, s=t=0.

I realize this is incredibly rough; I'm just looking to see if my thinking is on the right track.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
SMG75 said:

Homework Statement

Suppose x, y [itex]\in\Re^{n}[/itex] are nonparallel vectors.
a) Prove that if sx+ty=0, then s=t=0
b) Prove that if ax+by=cx+dy, then a=c and b=d

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm very new to proof-based math, so I'm just trying to get my feet wet here. I realize this is a very simple problem, but I was hoping someone could walk me through it.