Looking for books on group theory and differential geometry

In summary, if you are a student who wants to learn more about theoretical physics and mathematics, then I would recommend trying out books by Friedberg and Isham.
Theaumasch
My university doesn't offer many courses on theoretical physics (I'm studying applied physics), but because I might want to get my masters degree in theoretical physics, I want to read into some of the math and physics.

What books would you recommend to a student who has had linear algebra on the level of Anton and Rorres, calculus on the level of Adams and some introductory differential geometry during an introductory course on general relativity?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you want rigorous math books that treat the subject from the perspective of a mathematician, or do you want books that talk about groups, etc in terms of physics?

I'll be honest, I am a math and physics major, and thus far no physics class I've taken has required the math rigor that a math class provides, and most physics books that I have come across that do make use of abstract math tend to present the physics at a level far higher than what I can understand at the moment.

My opinion is that, if you learn the rigorous and "weird" abstract math NOW, then when it comes time to apply is in the context of physics, you will be able to spend most of your time understanding the physics, and not have to spend as much time trying to learn the math AND the physics.

With that in mind, try Fraleigh's "A First Course In Abstract Algebra." Some will suggest other fine books on algebra (like Dummit and Foote), but if you are self teaching and if this is going to be your first trek into real, rigorous, abstract math then those books will probably be a bit much for a first time reader. Fraleigh is about the easiest formal textbook to learn Group THeory from. Once you master that, then you can definitely get a whole lot out of deeper and more rigorous books.