Loop a loop

• Thread starter kamikaze1
  • Start date

Homework Statement

A marble rolls down a track and around a loop-the-loop of radius R. The marble has mass m and radius r. What minimum height h must the track have for the marble to make it around the loop-the-loop without falling off?

Homework Equations

What minimum height h must the track have for the marble to make it around the loop-the-loop without falling off?

The Attempt at a Solution

Find initial energy: mgh
Final energy tabulation: mg(2R) + 0.5mrg + 0.5(2/5)mr^(2)(v/r)^2
Set equal to initial energy, I obtain 2R+7/10 =h, which isn't the right answer, what did I do wrong?

I found the velocity at top by using newton's 2nd law, i get v = squareroot(rg). I find w using constraint of wr=v. I get 2/5(mr^2) using moment of inertia for a solid sphere.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm so confused why this doesn't work out.

Answers and Replies

I'm still new to this, but it looks like you've got everything right except for the last part of your final energy calculation (the 0.5(2/5)mr^(2)(v/r)^2 part). I'm not quite sure why it's there, but I'm pretty sure that's the part that's throwing you off.

I'm still new to this, but it looks like you've got everything right except for the last part of your final energy calculation (the 0.5(2/5)mr^(2)(v/r)^2 part). I'm not quite sure why it's there, but I'm pretty sure that's the part that's throwing you off.
The last part is the kinetic rotational energy using I = (2/5)(M)(R^2)
Using kinetic rotational energy = 0.5Iw^2, I have
0.5(2/5)(MR^2)w.
using constraint wr=v, knowing that v=(rg)^0.5, I get
0.5(2/5)mr^(2)(v/r)^2

The answer isn't right.