1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mass Conservation and Reynold Transport theorem for Non Uniform flow

1. Apr 30, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I will honestly be so grateful if someone can explain this to me. I am studying the Reynolds transport theorem, particularly mass conservation. I have read over my notes and I really do not understand how to calculate the mass flow rate through the control surface if it has a non uniform velocity. The equation I was given was:

[itex]\dot{m}[/itex]i = integralcsi ρVdA

I don't even understand why this would give the mass flow rate. I think the problem is I don't understand the relevance of the integral. How can integrating with respect to the control surface area give you the mass flow rate?
    Also how can you integrate density x velocity with respect to area?

Does the mass flow rate have different types of integrals for different types of flow? (e.g. linear, non-linear)

I am so confused and keep panicking. Please someone help me!

2. Relevant equations

[itex]\dot{m}[/itex]i = integralcsi ρVdA

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 30, 2013 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

What would the integral be if rho and V were constant? What if the control surface were represented by a section of pipe, with a fluid like water flowing through it?

4. Apr 30, 2013 #3
    If rho and V were constant you get mass flow rate = rho x V x A .. which is the equation I use when the velocity is constant to calculate mass flow rate, so that makes sense!

What would happen if the control surface was a section of pipe with fluid flowing through it? I don't actually know. This is where I lack understanding I think.